Tags

, , , , , ,


Today I attended an educational seminar for couples counseling.  This seminar just happened to be in the same town that my father’s family is from, and where I spent a lot of time in my early childhood.   This course itself focused on helping couples to understand and improve love relationships, and how conflicts or arguments with one’s significant other is 90% related to old wounds and only 10% related to new wounds.

After the seminar was over I decided to take a drive by the home where my dear aunt, who is now deceased, and her family lived.  Because of what I learned today in the seminar it helped to dig up some strong emotions in me.  For about an hour, I allowed myself to be overcome with emotion in order relive some sweet childhood memories, from the times before I was alienated from my father and his family.

So here, a thirty-something year old woman can be brought to tears from happy thoughts of what was, and what could have been, but what was prevented.  Parental Alienation hurts.  Here my inner-child expresses herself in order to increase awareness of the long lasting damage that of Parental Alienation does.

I remembered the love, affection, kindness, and security I felt as a child being with my aunts.  My dad ran his own business he worked many hours, therefore I spent a lot of time my aunts’ care.  So, now, although one has passed on, and the other is elderly and ill, I thank them for loving me.  Parental Alienation isn’t only about the parent…

Aunt Jeanette, Thank you for singing to me You Are My Sunshine over and over and over again.

Thank you for bathing me with warm water, and dove soap, in your pink-tiled tub.

Thank you for walking me in that 70’s stroller to the town carnival.

Thank you for taking me to the mall and buying me clothes, and me dressing me like a doll.

Thank you for allowing me to beat on my cousins drums.

Thank you for calling me “Pumpkin”.

Thank you for taking me to the town parade.

 

Aunt Gay, Thank you  for cooking delicious meals and making me feel at home.

Thank you for allowing me to roller skate in your basement.

Thank you for pressing my dolls clothes.

Thank you for making me Mickey Mouse shaped pancakes.

Thank you for hugging me, and reading me bedtime stories.

Thank you for taking me on vacation to your lake house.

 

Thank you both for taking care of me when my dad was working.

Thank you both for treating me like a special little girl who was loved and adored, like any child deserves to be treated.

I look back on those precious times and I allow myself to feel sadness for having it ripped away at such a young age.

This is the passion that keeps me wanting to help other people.

