Tags

, , , ,


GavelMoney

Will Presumptive 50/50 Custody really prevent PAS?

I haven’t taken a stand on this issue because I don’t know enough to make an informed decision.  Although I always am an advocate for equal parenting, I become confused when it comes down to money.

My main concern is that 50/50 custody could potentially be more detrimental to the mother because women today still only make $.77 to every $1.00 their male peers make.  In addition, women, more often than men, take a considerable amount of time out of the workforce to care for their children and family, while their husbands continue to work and gain experience, pay raises, and promotions, which, after divorce, that leaves many women on uneven footing as they return back to the workforce, sometimes starting from square one.

With 50/50 custody, the likelihood of greatly reduced child support could greatly impact a women’s ability to care for her children.  However, let me state that I believe that 50/50 custody could work quite well, as long as the parents agree to it, live in the same town, and most importantly have a relationship in which they can work together effectively.  Let me further contradict myself by stating that presumptive 50/50 custody could prevent Parental Alienation.  Finally, allow me to confuse every reader out there by saying I really have no idea what I’m saying!

I do think that custody should be decided on a case-by-case basis.  At the same time, I am open to hearing debates on both sides.  What do you think?  Please post your comments.

