Image

As I was driving my kids to school this morning we were listening to the radio (it’s a big thing in our family) and The Tide is High by Blondie played and it instantly reminded me of my dad.  It’s such a strange song that brings memories flooding back because my dad was a traditional Polish man who enjoyed the Polka through and through.  I think he only played The Tide is High once in his Saab.  It was very shortly after we reunified and while riding in his car he popped in a tape deck of Muriel’s Wedding and he told me that he really enjoyed The Tide is High.  I thought is was strange back then, and I think it’s strange now.  However, after some thought I wonder if he was trying to be “cool” and play what he thought might interest me instead of his old school Polka (personally, I prefer the Polka).  Anyway, it put a smile on my face this morning.

Nevertheless, my dad’s love of Polka runs through my veins and one song especially stands out, although by no means “politically correct” it does remind me of my dad.  “Hiya, hey, hi how are ya doing?”  That was one of his common greetings. 

On that note… Enjoy some Polka and be happy  😉 

